Experimental Hip-hop: Ancient Fish from the Northwest by Kay the Aquanaut and Kitz Willman

Ancient Fish from the Northwest – Kay the Aquanaut and Kitz Willman (2020)
Hello.L.A. (France)
Hip-hop/Rap/Experimental Hip-hop

  1. A Tangerine Sunset at the Pine River Dam
  2. Pussywillows & Cattails
  3. IceAge Galleria
  4. Cascadia Cicada
  5. The Government Street Gallows
  6. Ancient Fish
  7. Ooh… They Want Young Blood
  8. Watch Out for the Sharkman
  9. Versace Teargas
  10. Chokeholds & Chicken Wings
  11. Stockholm Freestyle


The first collaboration between rapper Kay the Aquanaut and producer Kitz Willman. Ancient Fish from the Northwest features Kay’s ubiquitous flows over Kitz’s dynamic production. Kay in particular is fired up on this release, spitting some of his most fiery bars like on “Stockholm Freestyle” when he says “there were never any ‘good old’ days!” or the anthemic refrain of “DIY til I DIE!” in “IceAge Galleria.” These 11-tracks are weird, feisty, and raw. The album is for anarchist minded hip-hop fans that favor underground and experimental approaches to the music. Forward-thinking and present-minded. This is the Ancient Fish. Cassettes were issued by French label Hello.L.A. but tapes are sold out.

released November 24, 2020

this album was recorded in Mulmur Township in July/August 2020.
vocals and lyrics: Kay the Aquanaut
production, saxophone, drums, mixing, engineering: Kitz Willman
additional production on track 5: Kay the Aquanaut
album art: 319 Heads

Kay the Aquanaut

Kitz Willman

Author: TheNL

since mid 2000s

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *